Craig Armstrong announces new album “Sun On You”(Trailer) out September 7 via Decca Records

Celebrated worldwide for his award-winning film music, Craig Armstrong OBE, is set to release a new studio album as part of a major new deal with Decca Records. Sun On You, a beautiful collection of original works for piano and strings, will be released on September 7 via Decca Records/Universal Music. The album arrives following a series of major European tour dates including London and his hometown of Glasgow. Watch the official album trailer for Sun On You

The first track from Sun On You is a beautifully melancholic piece called “If I Should Fall”, which is available on all digital platforms HERE. After a gentle piano introduction, the piece builds through a rich string accompaniment and a heartfelt solo violin melody before ebbing away towards its conclusion.
Listen First Song of Forthcoming Album, “If You Should Fall”

Reflecting on the album, Armstrong said, “I think my music is about absence. Things unsaid. Like early Japanese art, it hints at feelings, giving fleeting glimpses of places and emotions, where the listener has to fill in the rest with their own story. Even musically, the listener has to sometimes imagine music within the silence, so paired down are these compositions. However, this is not music standing back and observing, it is music that is trying to reach out.

Sun On You marks a bold new chapter in Craig Armstrong’s fascinating compositional career. It also offers a moment of calm in a fast-paced world and an escape into a gentle, peaceful, and uplifting sound world.

Craig Armstrong – Sun On You
1. Sun On You
2. If You Should Fall
3. Restart
4. Marelle
5. Mono
6. Shifted
7. Somewhere
8. Alti
9. For Emma
10. Half Light
11. Sleep
12. Hanami
13. Ondine
14. Soft Patterns
15. In A Remote Place
16. Saudade