Zebuel – River City Sunset (Stream)

Bay Area DJ/Producer/Musician, ZEBUEL (aka Zebuel Early), released his new album, River City Sunseton Smoked Out Soul Records in conjunction with Mixto Music and Love Haight Records.
The album is a hybrid of styles and genres. It’s Memphis meets California, a sort of space age blues record, like if B.B. King and Three Six Mafia flew to Jamaica to record a movie soundtrack in 1975. The album is chill yet upbeat. ZEBUEL blends analog G-Funk-era synthesizers and modern day beats with reggae bass lines, organic horns and soulful guitar, creating a sound that is both classic and futuristic.
This album is meant to be a true representation of my life, influences and personality,” says Zeb. “I came up in the south on classic rock and blues records before moving to Colorado and eventually California. I’ve been influenced by West Coast bass music and the live music scenes equally, and it shows in my music. My aim is to provide an experience that will bring joy and ignite a party at the same time. I record and use samples of rivers in Tahoe, waves crashing on Pacific beaches, crickets and frogs in the redwoods and random sounds from the city. I combine production techniques with the skills of some of my favorite musicians to bless the record with a natural feel. Sam Ravenna plays bass, Teddy Raven is on Sax, Will Magid on Trumpet, Todd Holway on keys with two tracks co-produced by my friend CharlestheFirst.
The album was produced by Zebuel, co-mixed by Phil Jahns at Green Day’s Jingletown Studios and mastered by Don Grossinger (Jay-Z, Missy Elliot, Run DMC, Ghostface Killah, The Rolling Stones, The Flaming Lips, Brian Wilson.)
River City Sunset Track Listing
1. The Lights ft. CharlestheFirst
2. Angel Island at Dusk
3. Silkworm
4. Open Up Your Mind
5. Rewind Selectah
6. Midnight Drive
7. Jungle Spank Strut
8. Clear Blue Sky
9. I Need Your Loving So Bad
10. Leaves ft. CharlestheFirst
11. Leanin Back [BONUS TRACK]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here