José Manuel ‘Excursion Africanism’ (Remixes) on Music For Dreams

In revisiting the epic journey of José Manuel’s debut album ‘Excursion Africanism’, the Copenhagen based Music For Dreams label has procured remixes from like-minded producers to lend an additional layer to the afro-inspired drums of Manuel.
Turkish multi-instrumentalist Islandman, who recently released an EP on Music For Dreams, strips and slows down the elements of ‘Babylon’ and offers a more laid back and spacious version of the track, adding his kosmische guitar playing to the mix.
Also of Turkish decent, Berlin-based producer and international touring DJ, Mehmet Aslan grabs hold of the album’s only ambient track ‘Voices of Afrika’ and turns it into his own creation entirely. Bearing almost no resemblance to the original, Aslan’s remix is a dubby leftfield jam with far out guitar noodling and industrial-sounding drum machine breakdowns. Intense and defiantly orchestrated for the darkest corners of the dance floor.
And for those who wondered about the curiously titled album track ‘Excursion Africanism (Part 3)’ we get another piece of that puzzle from Manuel himself, with the inclusion of a more stripped down versioin of ‘Part 1’ entitled ‘Perca Dub ‘Part 1. The EP is finished off with Leo Mas & Fabrice Lagos Dub remix of ‘Hungry’; essentially a raw tribal groove with a hypnotic repetitious chant, this makes for a perfect DJ tool

Tracklist :
1. José Manuel – Babylon (feat. Babacar Dieng) [Islandman Remix]
2. José Manuel – Voices Of Africa (Mehmet Aslan Remix)
3. José Manuel – Excursion Africanism Pt. 1 (Perca Dub)
4. José Manuel – Hungry (Leo Mas & Fabrice Dub Remix)
José Manuel ‘Excursion Africanism’ is released by Music For Dreams on vinyl, digital and stream on Friday 7th April 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here