Seal Announces Album Of Timeless Classics,”Standards” to be Released November 10


British soul legend Seal combines his unique voice with some of the greatest jazz and swing classics ever written on his new album, Standards. Seal’s tenth studio album in his 30-year career breathes life into iconic hits by Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, and Nina Simone. Standards will be released on November 10 through Decca Records/Virgin EMI/Universal Music.

This is the album I have always wanted to make,” Seal says. “I grew up listening to music from the Rat Pack era, so recording these timeless tunes was a lifelong dream. It was a true honour to collaborate with the same musicians who performed with Frank Sinatra and so many of my favourite artists in the very same studios where the magic was first made – it was one of the greatest days of my recording career.

Seal’s new album brings the glamour of old Hollywood straight to the present. It is a natural successor to his series of soul records recorded a decade ago which sold over five million copies around the world. Standards hears Seal’s signature, velvety warm vocals, bring to life classics made popular by Nina Simone (“I Put A Spell on You”), Ella Fitzgerald (“I’m Beginning to See The Light”) and Frank Sinatra (“Luck Be A Lady”, “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” and “It Was A Very Good Year”). Lush orchestral moments soar on Charlie Chaplin’s “Smile” and the Cole Porter gem, “Love For Sale”.

Seal – Standard
1. Luck Be A Lady
2. Autumn Leaves
3. I Put A Spell on You
4. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
5. Anyone Who Knows What Love Is
6. Love For Sale
7. My Funny Valentine
8. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
9. Smile
10. I’m Beginning To See The Light (featuring The Puppini Sisters)
11. It Was A Very Good Year
12. The Nearness of You*
13. Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow*
14. Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting)*

*Deluxe Edition only


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here