Bärtaub – Atrax & Remixes from Swayzak, Roger Gerressen, Tolga Fidan & Cesar Merveille, Havantepe

The Petra Digital label is back with a bumper new release that boasts four originals by Bartaub and then four remixes by a top selection of contemporary artists. These include Swayzak, Roger Gerressen, Tolga Fidan & Cesar Merveille plus Havantepe and between them they make for a fantastic and essential release.
Bärtaub is two musical figures that hail from the concrete jungle of Istanbul. Mutlu San’s electronic music productions are blessed by a perpetual, spacious and moving nature, while Batu is deeply appreciated by house and techno aficionados of the city as being a restless DJ.
Their first tune Atrax is a deeply atmospheric house roller with great chords bringing light and colour to the groove. Find And Hide is built on a brilliantly programmed drum line that rocks back and forth on its heels and has loose percussion tumbling over the top as skewed synths bring some freakiness. Raw Land then gets more gritty with a prying synth riff that is edgy and mysterious as trumpets drift up top. It’s an intriguing track with a real sense of story telling then final original Bender is the most slick and up tempo of the lot, with rubbery drums and deft percussion all interweaving to groom and hypnotic effect.
The first remix is of Atrax by Roger Gerressen and is a super stripped back and deep dubby house roller which burrows far into your brain. The esteemed Cesar Merveille and Tolgan Fidan then work their magic on Find And Hide which is a super supple and subtle minimal track thats alive with synths, hits, bass strokes and rumbling drums. It’s the sort of thing you cannot resist dancing to.
Havantepe’s version of Raw Land is an uptempo, quick and slick house number with soft but forceful drums and chords that bring ever more pressure and tension as they build above a molten acid line. Last of all the legendary Swayzak flips Bender into a futuristic techno cut with gentle, soul infused pads but busy, electro styled percussion. It makes for a nice interplay as the drums bounce along and closes out an essential EP.
Release Date: 15/11/17
A1 Bartaub – Atrax (Original Mix)
A2 Bartaub – Find and Hide (Original Mix)
B1 Bartaub – Raw Land (Original Mix)
B2 Bartaub – Bender (Original Mix)
A1 Bartaub – Atrax (Roger Gerressen Mood Rework)
A2 Bartaub – Find and Hide (Tolga FIdan & Cesar Merveille Remix)
B1 Bartaub – Raw Land (Havantepe Remix)
B2 Bartaub – Bender (Swayzak Remix)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here