Everything Is Recorded announces debut album Featuring apperances from Sampha, Giggs, Ibeyi, Damon Albarn, Peter Gabriel + more

Richard Russell announces full details of the debut album from his collaborative artist project Everything Is Recorded. The musician, record producer and XL Recordings co-founder (who has previously produced albums for Gil Scott-Heron, Damon Albarn, Bobby Womack and Ibeyi) will release Everything Is Recorded by Richard Russell on February 16th, 2018 via XL Recordings.

Everything Is Recorded by Richard Russell features an eclectic international and inter-generational cast of collaborators and musicians who include (in order of appearance on the album) Sampha, Obongjayar, Kamasi Washington, Damon Albarn, Giggs, Ibeyi, Wiki, Syd, Rachel Zeffira, Infinite, Green Gartside, Peter Gabriel and Owen Pallett. The twelve track album features previous singles ‘Close But Not Quite (feat. Sampha)’, ‘Mountains Of Gold (feat. Sampha, Ibeyi, Wiki and Kamasi Washington)’ and ‘Show Love (feat. Syd and Sampha)’, which have been described as a “brilliant modernist approach to soul and dub… a masterclass in the art of collaboration” by Q Magazine and “the embodiment of pure, creative freedom” by Noisey, while The New Yorker stated “Russell’s vision, it seems, is about the power of collaboration… a grand synthesis of XL’s stylistic history”

To celebrate news of the album, Russell released a new song from the record. Accompanied by a video from Nick Walker, ‘Bloodshot Red Eyes (feat. Infinite and Green Gartside)’
Watch now

Everything Is Recorded by Richard Russell was recorded at Russell’s west London studio, The Copper House. Over the past couple of years, the studio became a creative second home for the revolving cast of both new and established artists who passed through to write, record and share ideas, mixing traditional recording sessions with extended, uninhibited live jams. With Russell at the production helm, a spirit of soundsystem-inspired collaboration and experimentation runs through the heart of an album that is born out of some spontaneous moments of togetherness and periods of intense personal reflection for its creator, and is at once soulful, timeless and modern.

Everything Is Recorded by Richard Russell track list:
1. Intro
2. Close But Not Quite (feat. Sampha)
3. She Said (feat. Obongjayar & Kamasi Washington)
4. Wet Looking Road (feat. Giggs)
5. Mountains Of Gold (feat. Sampha, Ibeyi, Wiki and Kamasi Washington)
6. Show Love (feat. Syd & Sampha)
7. Echoes In The Bone – Interlude (feat. Rachel Zeffira)
8. Bloodshot Red Eyes (feat. Infinite & Green Gartside)
9. Cane (feat. Ibeyi)
10. Purify – Interlude (feat. Infinite & Peter Gabriel)
11. Be My Friend (feat. Infinite)
12. Everything Is Recorded (feat. Sampha and Owen Pallett)

Everything Is Recorded by Richard Russell will be released on CD, LP and digitally, featuring photography from Ed Morris and artwork by Maharishi Hardy Blechman. The LP will be available on 180g black vinyl, with a special limited edition yellow vinyl version available through independent stores. It is available to pre-order now from: x-l-r.co/everythingisrecorded