Listen : Fahrland’s(Geiger) -Plastic People Feat. Mz Sunday Luv” from “Mixtape Vol. 1” album on Kompakt

Listen : Fahrland’s(Geiger) -Plastic People Feat. Mz Sunday Luv” from “Mixtape Vol. 1” album on Kompakt

To those familiar with the output of Cologne-based imprint Firm from back in the early ‘00s, the name of Geiger, alias Nass, shall undoubtedly ring a bell. Herald of a hedonistic melange of funk-soaked electro-pop and guitar-riddled synth music, sitting somewhere close to acts like Ween and Junior Boys, Alexander Geiger is about to break an eight-year hiatus with the drop of his debut album under the newly-founded moniker of Fahrland.

A release that both encompasses a healthy dose of the discoid tropes from the Firm era but also aspires to split with a segment of it, geared towards exploring further undisclosed fringes of his shape-shifting sound universe, ‘Mixtape Vol.1’ is the fruit of a decisive move from the sleepless Berlin to the peaceful countryside landscapes of Fahrland – a lushly forested area near Potsdam which you’ll have understood played an essential role in Geiger’s longed-for return.

Versatile and inclusive, the album sweeps a polyamorous gamut of styles and tempos like an answer to the virtual prisons that inhibit us on a daily basis, straying away from normative standards and classic full-length calibration as a result. Instead of weaving a singular narrative course, clear from all type of shackles and chains, Geiger navigates on sight, reflecting on notions as wide and universal as freedom, friendship and love across a multiversal patchwork of sounds and feels.

From the languid sexy vibe of ‘Beggin’, ‘Plastic People’ and ‘Yesterday’ – all three featuring the sensual whispers of multi-talented vocalist and artist MZ Sunday Luv, through the heavily vocodized, chip-implemented groove of I AM ROBOT – reminiscent of Telex and Space Art, balearic jazz & rap shine of ‘Sky So High’, smokey lounge ambience of ‘L AND H’ onto broader ambient-friendly spans such as ‘Suspension’, ‘Windshield Gently Wipers’ and the smooth, sun-basking closer ‘Get Down’, each track holds a fragile cocooned world at its heart.

Fahrland “MixTape Vol. 1” will be released on April 13, 2018.

01 Get Up
02 Suspension
04 Beggin feat. MZ Sunday Luv
05 Plastic People feat. MZ Sunday Luv
06 5/4
07 Yesterday feat. MZ Sunday Luv
08 Friends Forever
09 Sky So High
10 L AND H
11 Windshield Gently Wipers
12 Get Down