Otzeki Announce Debut LP/Watch “Pay The Tax” Video

Otzeki Announce Debut LP/Watch “Pay The Tax” Video

Heralding the release of their debut album Binary Childhood, Otzeki’s follow the release of new single Pay The Tax by debuting the accompanying video online.

Directed by Christian Cargill and shot on the fly across London’s tube and overground network, Otzeki’s guerrilla tactics proved cost effective – the only fine they incurred whilst filming was forgetting to tap their oysters whilst rushing for a connection. In the final cut Mike Sharp ramps up his performance as he strides across London’s transport network.

Otzeki’s debut album Binary Childhood is released on May 25th and teams Joel Roberts (keys, Ableton) meticulous attention to deal with the improvisational methods and stream of consciousness writing that’s been a feature since Otzeki’s inception. Separate, spiritual awakenings in Berlin formed the catalyst for Sharp and Roberts musical alliance – their mission a project built around balance and duality.

It’s an album driven by rhythm, that takes their previous use of electronic loops and infuses them with more organic sounds and live percussion. An exercise in the dark arts of electronic music, ‘Binary Childhood’ delivers a kind of controlled raving that’s served with a side-order of something subtly sinister and, despite their insistence that they’re not academically inclined individuals, is packed with cerebral songwriting.

Binary Childhood – TRACKLISTING
01. All The Animals
02. Pay The Tax
03. Already Dead
04. True Life
05. Nobody Like You
06. Are You For Real
07. Sun Is Rising
08. Foreign Love
09. Angry Fix
10. Walk On
11. Ships Are Coming
12. Strife

3/13: SXSW – Killing Moon & Reverb Nation Evening Showcase
3/14: SXSW – Collide’s TWIX Duo House
3/15: SXSW – AWAL B3SCI Showcase
3/17: SXSW – British Music Embassy – Latitude 30