Ladybird “All I Wanna Say LP”(ft. Phil Weeks, Chris Carrier, Art Of Tones, Chris Stussy & More) on Robsoul Recordings

Phil Weeks’ Robsoul Recordings offers up the debut long player from Ladybird this October, entitled ‘All I Wanna Say’ and featuring collaborations with Art Of Tones, Chris Carrier, and the label-head himself amongst others.

Julie Monnin, better known as Ladybird, initially made her mark in music as lead singer of French trio Soldiers Of Twilight before later embracing a solo career and gaining critical acclaim for her collaborative cut ‘My Precious Thing’ on Llorca aka Art Of Tones’ debut LP for Laurent Garnier’s F Communications imprint in 2001. Monnin’s career has continued to grow from there and many collaborations with Robsoul’s Phil Weeks followed suit, such as last year’s ‘She Can’t Love You’. Here though we see the esteemed vocalist deliver her debut LP on Robsoul, with the label family Art Of Tones, Chris Carrier, Chris Stussy, Joss Moog, Around7, JFilt and of course Phil Weeks joining on production duties throughout the project.

Across the project Ladybird delivers her funk-infused, Disco tinged approach to House music with tracks like ‘My Love Is Waiting’ alongside Chris Carrier employing funky guitar licks, horns and organic drum grooves all moving in unison with Ladybird’s soulful vocals. ‘All I Wanna Say’ with JFilt and ‘Off The Hook’ with Joss Moog stand as hazy, Downtempo contributions to the project.

Of course though given this being Robsoul, raw, sample heavy House music is at the core of the project, Weeks’ dusty drum style and choppy samples are radiantly displayed on ‘What Goes Round’ and ‘Sidedish’ whilst Joss Moog embraces twinkling chords and crunchy drums on ‘Don’t Take It From Me’. Chris Stussy opts for bright Rhodes and guitar licks on his collab whilst Art Of Tones veers things into Nu-Disco territory with snaking bass grooves, heady arpeggios and Ladybird’s soaring, hypnotic vocal stylings.

As you’d expect from such an established vocalist paired with some highly respected figures in House music, ‘All I Wanna Say’ perfectly showcases how contemporary House music still has soul.

Ladybird’s ‘All I Wanna Say’ is out on Robsoul Recordings 19th October 2018.

Track list:

1. Intro
2. MyLoveIsWaiting
3. WhatGoesRound
4. Don’tTakeItFromMe
5. Loveletter
6. AllIWannaSay
7. Sidedish
8. OffTheHook
9. ShowMeHow
10.I’m Good
11. Outro
12.Mary Jane (Bonus Track)