Dekmantel Festival reveals 2020 line-up including Philip Glass, Seun Kuti, Juliana Huxtable, Theo Parrish + more!

This summer, Dekmantel Festival returns for the 8th year running. The Dutch event enters a new decade by continuing to deliver five days of performance in and outside of Amsterdam – occurring day and night, drawn from all corners of the musical spectrum – while also pushing its programming out to further reaches and new heights. It takes place from 29th July to 2nd August.

Some standout bookings for Dekmantel Festival 2020 include a highly rare joint performance from afrobeat great Seun Kuti and firebrand poet Yasiin Bey, EBM originators Front 242, Dutch hard acid hero Miss Djax, Shangaan disco king Penny Penny, and a 10-hour marathon set from Theo Parrish. Also on offer at the festival will be the first Robert Hood live show in six years, Balearic demigod DJ Harvey, devious electroclash duo The Hacker & Miss Kittin, IDM scientist Objekt teamed with cutting-edge designer Ezra Miller, and veteran noisenik Nurse With Wound. Futher highlights are Laurel Halo performing both live and DJing, a full A/V show from electronica genius Floating Points, Berlin’s queer rave supergroup Herrensauna XXL (SPFDJ, CEM, Héctor Oaks and MCMLXXXV), and a one-off performance of Philip Glass and Rob Malasch’s 1982 work “The Photographer”, as well as new Glass compositions, by the American Philip Glass Ensemble and other special guests.

Close to 150 artists will be a part of Dekmantel Festival 2020. They are spread across Wednesday’s tentpole Opening Concerts; Thursday’s extensive programme of talks, film screenings, radio shows, club events, split across venues either side of Amsterdam’s IJ river; and the Friday to Sunday daytime festival, encompassing eight stages in the leafy and spacious Amsterdamse Bos. On display at Dekmantel Festival will be a broad sound-world, free from conventions and limits. Unique combinations of musicians will flourish. Genre-defining veterans flank young DJ talents. Major stars can, and will, appear in any place, at any time of day.

Bold electronic music of all shades once again makes up the core of Dekmantel Festival. Whether it is the steamy Greenhouse, the monolithic UFO, last year’s new deep listening realm The Zone, or stately theatres around Amsterdam, electrifying artists from across the globe will converge on the festival. Amongst them are Almaty’s techno jewel Nazira, Shanghai’s beat conceptualist 33EMYBW, Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo’s funky diggers Carrot Green & Trepenado, Osaka’s freeform drone unit Goat, Winnipeg’s breakcore goliath Venetian Snares and Kampala’s polyrhythmic troupe Nihiloxica. Returning favourites include Batu, DJ Stingray, Parrish Smith, upsammy, OKO DJ, re:ni, Oceanic, David Vunk, object blue, Roza Terenzi, Interstellar Funk and Helena Hauff.

An overview of the line-up can be found on the festival website. The program was revealed earlier this Tuesday January 14 on a website custom-made by and in collaboration with Bureau Cool and Tomorrow Bureau, with art direction by Bas van de Poel:

Dekmantel Festival aan ‘t IJ (Wednesday-Thursday):
Muziekgebouw / Bimhuis / Shelter / Tolhuistuin / Eye Filmmuseum

Dekmantel Festival Amsterdamse Bos (Friday-Sunday):
Main Stage / UFO / UFO II / Greenhouse / Selectors / Boiler Room / Red Light Radio / The Zone

Tickets & Info:
4 Day Ticket Dekmantel Festival (July 30 – August 2): € 182,- excluding service charges
3 Day Ticket Dekmantel Festival (July 31 – August 2): € 149,- excluding service charges
Wednesday Ticket – Philip Glass & Rob Malasch present The Photographer (July 29): € 29,- excluding service charges
Camping Ticket (5 Nights) (July 30 – Aug 2): € 56,- excluding service charges
Camping Ticket (4 Nights) (July 29 – Aug 2): € 46,- excluding service charges

Information on Single Day Tickets for all days, plus after-parties access, will be announced later on.
General Presale starts Friday January 17 at 12:00 CET,
Pre-Register ticket sale starts Thursday January 16 at 12:00 CET, via the festival website:

33EMYBW (live)
808 State (live)
Air Max ’97 (live)
Alt ı n Gün
Animistic Beliefs (live) Antal
Anthony Rother Aquarian
Arp Frique presents Improvised Suites For Analog Machines
Aurora Halal (live)
Barker (live)
Beta Librae
Blanck Mass
Bufiman (live)
Caio T
Call Super
Carrot Green & Trepanado
Casper Tielrooij & Tako
Channel One
Crevette Records DJs
Damien Dubrovnik
David Vunk
dBridge presents Black Electric (live)
Deadbeat & Tikiman
Dimi Angélis
DJ Harvey
DJ Marfox
DJ Stingray
Elena Sizova
Floating Points (live)
Freedom Engine (live)
Front 242
Gesloten Cirkel (live)
Giant Swan (live)
Goat (JP)
Helena Hauff
Herrensauna XXL ft. SPFDJ, CEM, Héctor Oaks & MCMLXXXV
Hunee (UFO set)
Identified Patient
Interstellar Funk
Jameszoo’s Blind Group
Jamie Tiller
Jane Fitz
JASSS & Low Jack
Jensen Interceptor
Job Sifre
Josey Rebelle
Juliana Huxtable
Karenn (live)
Kate NV
Laurel Halo (live & dj)
Lauren Hansom
Lawrence Le Doux
Lee Gamble
Loraine James
Machine Woman (live)
mad miran
Mark Fell
Miss Djax
Moon Duo present The Lightship
Nicky Siano
Nurse With Wound
object blue (live)
Objekt (dj)
Objekt & Ezra Miller (live)
Parrish Smith
Peaking Lights (live)
Penny Penny
Phase Fatale & REKA
Philip Glass & Rob Malasch present The Photographer
Phillip Jondo & DJ Plead
Randomer & Matrixxman
Relmer International (live)
Robert Hood (live)
Roza Terenzi
Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 ft. Yasiin Bey
Skee Mask & Stenny
Sofie Birch
Solid Blake
Spekki Webu
The Hacker & Miss Kittin
The Mauskovic Dance Band
The Mover (live)
Theo Parrish (10 hour set)
Thomas Martojo
Tribe Of Colin (live)
Venetian Snares
Vintage Voudou
Willikens & Ivkovic
Winds & Skins
Young Marco
Zakia & Nabihah Iqbal Zohar
ZONAL ft. Moor Mother