DJ Godfather is back with a brand – new album “This Detroit Thing Of Ours”

The mighty DJ Godfather is back with a brand-new album. And if you thought last year’s ‘Electro Beats For Freaks‘ was a bombshell you’ll be blown away by ‘This Detroit Thing Of Ours’.

Once again DJ Godfather (Brian Jeffries ) breaks all the rules. The album features 46 tracks and like his last album, they segue into one another, until the series of EPs on vinyl (and digital) which will follow featuring full-length versions and different mixes of some of the album’s tracks.

DJ Godfather (Brian Jeffries) is one of the founding fathers of the Detroit Ghetto Tech scene but has gone on to be so much more over a career that spans almost 3 decades. For those wanting an insight into Ghetto Tech, head to track 38, ‘It’s Ghetto Tech’ featuring Dan Diamond which draws a line under the many questions posed to Godfather over the years about the genre. The album also includes three scratch tracks, ‘1200’s Are Lit’, ‘Table Terrorist’ and the even more aptly named ‘Assassin On The Decks’ as this king of turntablism keeps the culture alive. The album throws up even more variety with Electro, Techno and House beats making an appearance alongside collaborations with DJ Deeon, Goodmoney G100, King Saaidi, Gettoblaster & Missy, Lil Mz 313, Ricky Burns, JPE, Parkhouse and (as already mentioned) Dan Diamond.

Deliberately raw and unpolished, deep down and dirty, it’s ‘This Detroit Thing Of Ours’.

DJ Godfather “This Detroit Thing Of Ours”
Released: 12 November 2021
Track Listing:

01. This Recording
02. Are You Ready?!?
03. What Up Featuring Parkhouse
04. 1200’s Are Lit
05. Can’t C Me
06. Godfather L.I.V.E Featuring JPE
07. Oh Shit Featuring Goodmoney G100
08. Intergalactic Funk
09. Block The Hoe Featuring Ricky Burns
10. Let’s Talk Some Jit
11. Get Down Featuring DJ Deeon
12. It Started In The D
13. She Gettin’ Hit Featuring Goodmoney G100
14. Damage Control
15. Shake Them
16. Sync Buttons Featuring Goodmoney G100
17. Table Terrorist
18. Hold Up Featuring DJ Deeon
19. Take A Ride Through Detroit
20. Not Me Featuring King Saaidi
21. Ride That Thing Featuring Gettoblaster & Missy
22. Friendzone Featuring King Saaidi
23. Down Woodward Ave.
24. That Electro Shit
25. Assassin On The Decks
26. Eastside – Westside Featuring Goodmoney G100
27. That Street Beat
28. On The Gram Featuring Goodmoney G100
29. Squo?
30. Bass Drop Featuring Lil Mz 313
31. Step To The Tek
32. Damn It’s Fat Featuring Ricky Burns
33. Hyponotized
34. Footwerkz
35. Freq Me
36. Till It’s All Gone Featuring Ricky Burns
37. That Booty Featuring Lil Mz 313
38. It’s Ghetto Tech Featuring Dan Diamond
39. Outta My Mind
40. You Can’t Stop This
41. Warehouse Musik
42. Smokin’ Up Yo Weed Featuring Goodmoney G100
43. When Worlds Collide
44. Back It Up Featuring Ricky Burns
45. Count Back
46. Checkmate