Feiertag to release Roots on Sonar Kollektiv

Joris Feiertag is a Dutch producer and drummer from Utrecht, who makes music that is a finely balanced blend of organic and synthesized elements, often using ingenious syncopated rhythms combined with instruments such as the harp and kalimba.

Roots is his third album on revered German imprint Sonar Kollektiv. Having concentrated his attention on catchy hooks and a number of guest voices on his first, and deeper break- beat workouts on his second, Joris felt it was time to deliver something that sat comfortably in a space somewhere between the two. The LP features not only a plethora of vocalists from across the globe but also sees the producer playing with obscure samples and sounds, as he attempts to discover a new direction and find that sweet spot between dark and light; major and minor; new and old; uplifting electronica and soul.

The album format allows Feiertag to provide snapshots of not only his own personal life and experiences but those of his musical collaborators. On Queen & King, Tru Thoughts recording artist Rhi spins a compelling tale of striving for independence and the understanding of self-worth; on Feel Me, Nego True opens up about moving in with his partner and his ambitions to start a family; and taking it to the next stage, on Law Of Attraction, Washington D.C. indie hip hop outfit OSHUN tell the story about the joys and challenges of parenthood.

Elsewhere, the sonic partnerships provide simply a fresh amalgamation of sound, such as on Keep Your Head Up, where Noah Slee’s soulful aesthetic blends with Feiertag’s brooding, minor key instrumentation, or Ballon Sogni where traditional African balafon, ethereal choirs and Fallon Nioke’s uncompromising vocal delivery create something almost otherworldly.

Feiertag – Roots
release date: October 20th, 2023

1 – Nostalgia feat. WAAN
2 – Keep Your Head Up feat. Noah Slee
3 – Feel Me feat. Nego True
4 – re:solution
5 – Ballon Sogni feat. Falle Nioke
6 – Didn’t Know Why (You Lost Your Soul)
7 – Come Back
8 – Queen & King feat. Rhi
9 – Reverie feat. Robin Kester
10 – Law of Attraction feat. OSHUN
11 – Love Hills feat. Nego True
12 – Waiting for Tomorrow feat. Leonard Luka
13 – Violet (You & Me) feat. Oli Hannaford
14 – Give a Little feat. Pete Josef

Stay tuned at Electronic ConnectFM Tracks of the Month selection and Listen to Feiertag’s new music first