Premiere: Theiz – Incredible Colours[EPMmusic]

Incredible Colours is taken from Theiz ‘s new album ‘All That Remains’, out 31st March on EPMmusic

Theiz delivers on the promise of December’s ‘For The Love’ EP with its companion album, ‘All That Remains’.

Theiz (Mathijs Schippers) is now some 30 years deep in the scene. Having released on labels such as Eevolute, Techno-Tourist and Ear-land Recordings in the late 90s and early 00s, Mathijs began producing again in 2015 with no pressure to release – simply just for the sake of making new music. His activity as a music journalist brought him back into contact with the music industry and now freshly motivated, he is firmly in the saddle with this, his fourth release on his new home, EPM.

Theiz’s musical journey actually goes back to the end of the eighties. Influenced by Ben Liebrand, Bomb the Bass, Coldcut, Pink Floyd and Tangerine Dream, he experimented by remixing tracks using an old tape recorder and cassette decks. At age 17-18 he met the twin brothers Tonie and Peter Van der Loon who opened up a whole new world for him: synthesizers and the underground music scene. This broadened his horizons with Detroit’s Derrick May and Kenny Larkin, Richie Hawtin, B12 and Sun Electric all making a big impression. Years of making music in their little studio in the Van der Loon garage, monthly record buying trips to Amsterdam and the occasional club night resulted in a few releases on Eevolute as East Island in the second half of the 90s. In 2000 the first Theiz solo release ‘It’s Done’ became real (as part of Techno Tourist’s Various Artists ‘Follow the Beat’ EP alongside artists such as The Moderator and TV99AD).

After three well-received EPs on EPM, Theiz now takes the plunge with the grand statement of his debut album. With mood-setting short interludes peppering the length of the long player, Theiz infuses ‘All That Remains’ with emotion and warmth throughout. Whilst some may already be familiar with scene stealing ‘1000 Year Cycle of the Dragonfly’ and the deeper melancholy of ‘Infinite Compassion’ from last year’s album taster EP ‘For the Love’, here we find Theiz exploring the deeper end of the techno spectrum that echoes the timely re-issue of Warp’s ‘Artificial Intelligence’ albums and Delsin’s re-issue of early Eevolute classics that have helped to define the genre, somewhat ironically termed IDM. Ultimately this is techno music with soul.

From the subtle breaks and haunting melodies of ‘Sam’s Song’ that evoke early AFX productions to the more frenetic, acid-tinged ‘Infinite Compassion’, the downtempo, sun-dappled and 303 kissed ‘Hazy Shades of Acid Bliss’ to the Black Dog imbued closer ‘All That Remains is Love’, Mathijs Schippers puts all his thirty years electronic experience into this sublimely crafted debut album. Well worth the wait.

Theiz – All That Remains
Track Listing:

01. (Intro)
02. Incredible Colours
03. Sam’s Song
04. (Interlude 1)
05. A Beautiful Off Day
06. Tormented Beauty
07. (Interlude 2)
08. Infinite Compassion
09. (Interlude 3)
10. 1000 Year Cycle Of The Dragonfly
11. Hobbes
12. (Interlude 4)
13. Greetje
14. Hazy Shades of Acid Dub
15. All That Remains is Love
16. (Outro)

Follow: Artist, Label, Support