Defected Presents Melé In The House /Hear Exclusive track ‘Tribal Harmonix’ (Extended Mix)

Stepping up to mix Defected’s coveted In The House series is Melé, a producer whose standout percussive sound and infectious energy behind the decks makes him one of the UK’s most captivating, flourishing DJs. From 13-year-old bedroom DJ growing up in the Wirral to his breakout tribal anthem ‘Ambience’ in 2015, Melé has now fully honed his skills in production and mixing, culminating in these two mixes for Defected presents Melé In The House.

Describing working on the mixes as “like putting together a really hard jigsaw puzzle”, Melé’s In The House was mixed live, charting his obsession with deconstructing tracks and echoing his DJing technique using three or four decks, looping percussion and piano parts over each other for a uniquely layered effect. The mix draws on almost 25 years of house music, focussing on the Latin, tribal and percussive, along with a couple of slick curveballs.

Also in the mix are three exclusive productions from Melé himself plus ‘Dancing Mist’ from Joe Corti, an up-and-comer from the UK.

Following epic rolling house moments from David Mayer ‘Movement’, Jimpster ‘Step By Step’ and the jacking wonkiness of Joeski ‘Acid Disco’ to kick things off, approaching the end of Mix 1 comes a bombshell moment in the form of The Stone Roses ‘Fools Gold’, a regular pinnacle of Melé’s explosive sets and an elevating moment within the mix. Finally for Mix 1 is a standout brand new release from Melé himself. With live percussion from drum warrior Shovell, the cover of ‘Pasilda’ pumps up the track’s unmistakeable rhythms and piano melody with an irresistibly hefty bassline and vocal loops. A long-time highlight of Melé’s sets but until now unreleased, ‘Pasilda’ is an exclusive and suitably high-octane ending to part one of the compilation.

Part two of Melé In The House kicks off with the explosive Armand Van Helden production ‘Loves Ecstasy’ (Peak Hour Mix) bringing the carnival vibes, matched with its energy by another exclusive new Melé production. The aptly named ‘Brooklyn Bounce’ is Melé’s ode to Danny Tenaglia, a key influence whose sought-after percussive spirit is apparent throughout the whole mix. A sophisticated pumping house cut with plenty of signature layered percussion, Mix 2 continues to build into the final Melé production ‘Tribal Harmonix’, the darker, more melodic and tech-inclined of the three. Primal Scream’s ‘Don’t Fight It, Feel It (Scat Mix)’ provides another curveball moment that has played a key role in Melé’s sets for a hot minute, while further highlights include ‘Romanthony ‘Bring U Up’ (Jasper James Remix)’, ‘Seven Davis Jr. ‘Friends’ (Eats Everything Rework)’ and ‘Apollo 440 ‘Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Dub’ (Armand van Helden Snake Style Remix)’ showing Melé’s acute knack for a club-storming direction.

With his In The House contribution Melé shows his passion for dismantling seriously heavyweight house, engineering these mixes with impressive flair, taste, and plenty of percussive flavour.

CD & Digital Release: 31 August 2018

1. David Mayer ‘Movement’
+ Honey Dijon featuring Seven Davis Jr. ‘Houze’ (Accapella)
2. Vega & Quintero featuring Nina Rodriguez ‘Yemaya’ (Louie Vega Bassline Mix)
3. Blaze ‘Lovelee Dae’ (Primitive Dub)
4. Julien Jabre ‘Talking Walls’
5. Ian Pooley ‘Gimmie Sound’
6. Quim Manuel ‘Senhor Doutor’ (Adam Port Edit)
7. Luciano & David Morales ‘Esperanza’ (Luciano Flow Latino Mix)
8. Peven Everett ‘Stuck’ (Original)
9. Jimpster ‘Step By Step’
10. Joe Corti ‘Dancing Mist’
11. thatmanmonkz featuring Nikki-O ‘Ooh Wee’ (Hamtramck Mix)
12. Robert Owens ‘I’m Strong’ (House Mix)
13. Joeski ‘Acid Disco’
14. G Club presents Banda Sonora ‘Guitarra G’ (Warren Clarke Dub Mix)
15. DJ Gregory ‘S2’ (Beat)
16. The Stone Roses ‘Fools Gold’ (Remastered)
17. Mood II Swing ‘Move Me’ (Alternative Mix)
18. Melé & Shovell ‘Pasilda’ (Extended Mix)

1. Van Helden presents Jungle Juice ‘Loves Ecstasy’ (Peak Hour Mix)
2. Melé ‘Brooklyn Bounce’ (Extended Mix)
3. Alec Wizz ‘Drummin’’ (Louis Benedetti Main Mix)
4. Emanuel Satie ‘One Love’
5. Lord Leopard ‘The Bumps’
6. Melé ‘Tribal Harmonix’ (Extended Mix)
7. Romanthony ‘Bring U Up’ (Jasper James Remix)
8. Harry Romero ‘Scatter’
9. Primal Scream ‘Don’t Fight It, Feel It’ (Scat Mix)
10. Modeler ‘Mint Condition’
+ Shakedown ‘At Night’ (Accapella)
11. Seven Davis Jr. ‘Friends’ (Eats Everything Rework)
12. Photonz ‘Osiris Resurrected’ (Palms Trax Remix)
13. Apollo 440 ‘Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Dub’ (Armand van Helden Snake Style Remix)
14. Michel Clies ‘Litoral’ (Original Mix)
15. The Martinez Brothers ‘My Rendition’ (TMB Bonus Beats)
16. Leo Alarcon & Ife Franklin ‘Ife Afro’ (Playroom Boston Afrodrumz Mix)
17. Melé ‘Colours’
+ Black Motion featuring Xoli M ‘Rainbow’ (Accapella)

Pre-order HERE