Listen: Bonobo unveils new single Shadows feat. Jordan Rakei from forthcoming album “Fragments”

Musician, producer and DJ Bonobo (aka Simon Green) has today shared Shadows, another new preview of his forthcoming album ‘Fragments ’ out on 14th January on Ninja Tune. ‘Shadows’ features friend and Ninja Tune labelmate Jordan Rakei. Bonobo has also announced an additional night at The Royal Albert Hall in London with his live band on Thursday 19th May after selling out the Wednesday 18th May show. Only a few tickets remain for the shows on Monday 16th and Tuesday 17th May.

‘Shadows’ is intoxicating. It leans into a haunting groove of rattling bass and crunchy Fender Rhodes, hitting an ecstatic crescendo over rising synth and string arpeggios. Green said of the track: “Shadows was one of the first pieces in place for the new record and working with Jordan was such a joy. We’d spent plenty of time together previously. He’s toured with us and I’m a huge fans of his. He was an easy choice as a collaborator. The instrumental existed as a slow evolving throwback Detroit thing. I had people like Theo Parish and Moodyman in mind when I was making it. It’s been one of my favourites from the new album since day one.

I’ve been a huge fan of Bonobo for such a long time and to now share a piece of music with him is super special. We actually worked on this tune remotely in the beginning of Lockdown 2020,Jordan Rakei adds. “Simon sent me the track and I actually wrote about 3 different verses and 3 different choruses. When you work remotely it’s really difficult to gauge whether or not an idea is suitable to their vision, so I wanted to make sure I was sending more than enough haha. And he chose his favourite verse and favourite chorus and I went and recorded it in my London studio.

Bonobo Fragments
1. Polyghost (feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
2. Shadows (feat. Jordan Rakei)
3. Rosewood
4. Otomo (feat. O’Flynn)
5. Tides (feat. Jamila Woods)
6. Elysian
7. Closer
8. Age of Phase
9. From You (feat. Joji)
10. Counterpart
11. Sapien
12. Day by Day (feat. Kadhja Bonet)