Carl Craig – Detroit Love Vol. 2/Listen : DJ Minx – Do It All Night (C2 Edit)

Detroit Love present the second release on their eponymous imprint – a collaborative venture from Planet E and !K7 that aims to capture the essence of Carl Craig’s beloved event series.

Following last year’s inaugural mix from Stacey Pullen, the second entry has been skillfully assembled by Carl Craig himself. Across a hazy, funk-driven voyage, he delves into the spirit of his hometown, championing the past and future of the motor city into an expertly curated mix.

With a blend of 90s gems and brand new exclusives, Carl’s track selections forge an atemporal vision of quintessential Detroit music. Included in the mix are two rare, early 90s classics from Ectomorph and Rhythim Is Rhythim, neither of which have been reissued on vinyl for decades, in addition to a 2015 collaboration from Carl Craig and Green Velvet, never before released on wax.

New material comes in the form of an exclusive Carl Craig edit of DJ Minx, another exclusive from Claude VonStroke, tracks from TV Lounge affiliates Ataxia and Mister Joshooa and unheard music from Matthew Dear under his new Brain alias, to name a few.

Whilst Carl’s name might be stamped on the mix, Detroit itself takes centre stage. The number of exclusive tracks reflects his commitment to crafting a unique listening experience, but the spirit of the city shines through in the diversity of his selections, which range from modern classical crossovers to American garage rock via a healthy dose of soul-drenched house and techno.

Release date:17 May 2019
Mix tracklist:

1. Kevin Saunderson – World of Deep (ft. Virus J)
2. Dave Aju & thatmanmonkz ft. Foxxee – They Sleep We Love (Sev’s Bay Area Remix)
3. Green Velvet & Carl Craig – Rosalie
4. Octave One – Rock My Soul (Reborn Mix)
5. Waajeed – Power in Numbers
6. Sophie Lloyd – Calling Out (Floorplan Extended Revival Mix)
7. BMG & Sal P – Credit Card (Gay Marvine remix)
8. Claude VonStroke – My Love Check
9. DJ Minx – Do It All Night (C2 Edit)
10. Delano Smith – Safe Place
11. Gaiser – For Balance
12. Mr G – Lights (G’s Out Dub)
13. Mirko Loko & Stacey Pullen – Formulaic Mode
14. Ataxia – Oblivion
15. Brain – Boss
16. Mister Joshooa – Kickflip
17. Rhythim Is Rhythim – It Is What It Is
18. Ectomorph – Satori
19. The Dirtbombs – Alleys of Your Mind

Vinyl tracklist (unmixed tracks):
A1. Ectomorph – Satori
A2. Rhythim Is Rhythim – It Is What It Is
B1. Green Velvet & Carl Craig – Rosalie
B2. DJ Minx – Do It All Night Long (C2 edit)
C1. BMG & Sal P – Credit Card (Gay Marvine Remix)
C2. Claude VonStroke – My Love Check

Carl launched the Detroit Love parties in 2014 as a way of representing the city’s heritage across the globe. Extending this mission to the label, Detroit Love Mixed By Carl Craig is an impassioned homage to the musical legacy of his hometown.